

Media Release

Issued Tuesday 8 December, 2009

Another McLaren Vale red named Australia's best export wine

The Trophy for Australia's most outstanding export wine is on its way to McLaren Vale again.

Sabella Vineyards was today awarded the George Mackey Memorial Trophy for its 2005 McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon – breaking Penfolds' three-year hold of the Trophy.

A McLaren Vale wine has won the Trophy five times since the Award's inception in 1991; more than any other region in Australia.

Winning winemaker, Michael Petrucci, spoke of his great delight in winning the Trophy: "Making this wine was a pleasure and we're thrilled to be representing the region and its special old vines. The fruit for the wine is estate owned and operated and the grower, my father Joe Petrucci, whose presence in McLaren Vale spans 35 years, needs to be commended for his efforts in producing such flawless grapes to work with."

The Trophy was introduced by the Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation (AWBC) in memory of one of its early Chairmen, Mr George Mackey, who is credited with improving communication within the industry.

From the thousands of wines submitted to the Corporation each year for export approval, wines considered to be of exceptional quality are nominated by an expert panel of independent wine inspectors to be in the running for the George Mackey Trophy.

The Corporation's wine inspectors tasted 16,717 wines in 2008/2009 as part of the export evaluation process. Of these, 131 were initially nominated for the trophy, and a final 34 were submitted to the final judging panel, comprising Stephen Webber (Manager and Chief Winemaker De Bortoli Wines Yarra Valley and Chairman of Judges at The Royal Melbourne Wine Show), Tony Love (Wine writer Advertiser Newspapers Adelaide) and Dr Leigh Francis (Research Manager – Sensory, Australian Wine Research Institute).

"The judges agreed that the winning wine was a worthy Ambassador for Australian fine wine, and demonstrated the importance of quality fruit and the benefits of vine age," said AWBC chief executive, Andrew Cheesman.

Presentation of the Trophy was made at the Corporation's annual general meeting on 8 December 2009.

FURTHER ENQUIRIES:

James March
Executive Officer – Communications
Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation

Tel: 08 8228 2016 / 0409 545 995 / james.march@wineaustralia.com



Notes for editors

GEORGE MACKEY MEMORIAL TROPHY

The trophy was established in memory of a former chairman of the AWBC, Mr George Mackey, who died in 1990. Mr Mackey served on the Board of the AWBC from March 1982 and as Chairman from September 1986 until 1990.

The Corporation's Board recognised this contribution and with the financial support of industry and the Mackey family, instituted the George Mackey Memorial Trophy.

The trophy is presented annually by the Corporation to the most outstanding exported wine of the year. Initial nomination of the award is by the AWBC wine inspectors through the routine inspection process and the final winner is selected by an independent panel of wine show judges. To qualify for the final selection, 100 cases (900 litres) of the product must have been exported.

Presentation of the trophy is made at the Corporation's annual general meeting in December each year.

Trophy winners include:

1990-1991	Lindemans 1990 Padthaway Chardonnay
1991-1992	Coldstream Hills 1991 Yarra Valley Pinot Noir
1992-1993	Hardys Collection 1991 Padthaway Chardonnay
1993-1994	Cape Mentelle 1993 Margaret River Chardonnay
1994-1995	Diawa Nar Darak 1994 Upper Goulburn Chardonnay
1995-1996	Penley Estate 1993 Coonawarra Cabernet Sauvignon
1996-1997	Rosemount Estate 1994 Show Reserve McLaren Vale Shiraz
1997-1998	Coldstream Hills 1996 Reserve Yarra Valley Chardonnay
1998-1999	Rosemount Estate 1996 SR McLaren Vale Shiraz
1999-2000	Chateau Xanadu 1998 Margaret River Chardonnay
2000-2001	Tatachilla 1998 McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon
2001-2002	Orlando 2000 Jacob's Creek Limited Release Chardonnay
2002-2003	Wirra Wirra 2001 RSW McLaren Vale Shiraz
2003-2004	Brothers In Arms 2002 No.6 Langhorne Creek Shiraz Cabernet
2004-2005	Mt Toolleen 2002 Ebenezer Vineyard Barossa Valley Shiraz
2005-2006	Penfolds 2003 RWT Barossa Valley Shiraz
2006-2007	Penfolds 2004 Bin 707 South Australia Cabernet Sauvignon
2007-2008	Penfolds 2005 Yattarna Adelaide Hills Chardonnay
2008-2009	Sabella Vineyards 2005 McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon

ENDS

